Indiana Public Broadcasting Stations

    All Subjects
      All Types

        Antarctic Food Web Game

        Media Credits:

        ©2007 WGBH Educational Foundation. All rights reserved. Concept adapted from Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences. Materials courtesy of British Antarctic Survey (Krill Image), Doug Allan/British Antarctic Survey (Icefish Image), Kristan Hutchison—Antarctic Sun Staff (Snow petral), NOAA (Blue whale), and Robert Pittman (Killer whales).


        Bigelow Laboratory for Ocean Sciences

        Project Funded By:

        Funder: National Science Foundation-2-grayscale

        Project Credits:

        The Teachers' Domain Life Science and Physical Science Expansion Collection 2007 is a collaboration of WGBH Educational Productions, the WGBH Media Library, and WGBH Interactive. Major funding for this project is provided by the National Science Foundation. Teachers' Domain is a Pathways project of the National Science Digital Library. This material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. 0226184. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

        Production Credits

        Project Management

        Denise Blumenthal, Director, Educational Productions

        Karen Cariani, Director, Media Library

        Christine Dietlin, Senior Producer

        Peter Pinch, Director of Technology

        Ted Sicker, Executive Producer, Teachers' Domain

        Amy Tonkonogy, Video Executive Producer

        Christian Wise, Senior Designer

        Resource Production Team

        Stephanie Boutin, Associate Producer

        Mary Ellen Gardiner, Production Manager

        Jim Geis, Web Developer

        Jessica Gidal, Associate Producer

        Lily Ladd, Production Coordinator

        Alison Morando, Designer

        Dan Paquin, Web Developer

        Lisa Rosenthal, Designer

        Christian Wise, Senior Designer

        Content Development

        Steven Bedard, Content Producer

        Anna Brooks, Editorial Producer

        Emily Lu, Content Producer

        Christopher Riegle, Content Producer

        Web Production, Design, and Development

        Jon Alper, Video Technology Director

        Jamie Biggar, Senior Developer

        Joe Brandt, Senior Developer

        Bob Donahue, Senior Developer

        Jason Kahn, Systems Support

        Christian Wise, Senior Designer

        Business Management

        Jim Barton, Business & Operations Manager

        Maria Constantinides, Business Manager

        Amy Stahl, Unit Manager


        Mark Bloom, BSCS

        Jim Carter, HSCA

        Sally Crissman, TERC

        Alex Griswold, HSCA

        Nancy Finkelstein, HSCA

        Gillian Puttick, TERC

        Lesson Plan Writers

        Mark Bloom, BSCS

        Jim Carter, HSCA

        Alex Griswold, HSCA

        Christopher Riegle, WGBH

        Copy Editors

        Cindy Bond

        Donna Woonteiler

        Additional Assistance

        Leslie Coles, Office Coordinator

        Susan Chopnick, Intern

        Drew Fetterman, Intern

        Weiling Guo, Intern

        Salme Lopez, Rights Manager


        Alisha Jansky

        Resource Credits

        Alex Griswold, HSCA

        American Chemical Society

        American Museum of Natural History

        American Society Of Mechanical Engineers

        Arbor Day Foundation

        Aspire Lab, University of Utah

        The Bishop Museum, Honolulu, Hawaiʻi

        Bob Hirshon, Kinetic City

        British Antarctic Survey

        Charles Sprandel

        Charlie Jui, University of Utah


        Clive Grainger, HSCA

        Daryl Rizzo, Shedd Aquarium

        David M. Harrison, Deptartment of Physics, University of Toronto

        Design Squad

        DragonflyTV, Twin Cities Public Television

        Earth Day Canada


        The Education Group


        Eric H. Chudler, Ph.D., Neuroscience for Kids, University of Washington


        Genetic Science Learning Center at the University of Utah

        Harvard—Smithsonian Astrophysical Observatory

        Harvard—Smithsonian Center for Astrophysics

        Howard Hughes Medical Institute

        Kenneth Libbrecht, CalTech

        Kurt Feichtmeir, Exploratorium

        Marisa Wolsky, WGBH

        Marcus Brandt

        Maryland Public Television

        Michael J. Jaquez, Arbor Day Foundation

        Mike Shanahan, Bishop Museum

        Meg Bury, Exploratorium

        Missouri Botanical Garden





        Jon L. Holmes, University of Wisconsin-Madison

        Journal of Chemical Education

        Julie Callahan, University of Utah

        Kenneth G. Libbrecht, California Institute of Technology

        Kenton J. Moody, University of California, Berkeley

        Kinetic City/AAAS

        Kristan Hutchison, Antarctic Sun Staff

        Louisa Stark, University of Utah

        Maryland Public Television/Thinkport

        National Park Service

        National Park Service: Webrangers

        National Science Center

        Nick Doe, Wellesley College Chemistry DepartmentNOAA

        NOVA/WGBH Educational Foundation

        NOVA scienceNow/WGBH Educational Foundation

        Patricia Morner, University of Nebraska

        PhET, Physics Education Techonolgy, University of Colorado

        Pearson Education, Inc.

        Richard Roberts, Texas Parks and Wildlife

        Richard Hudson, DragonflyTV

        Rick Swanson, DragonflyTV

        Rob Rothfarb, Exploratorium

        Robert Morsberger, Composer

        Robert Pittman, Photographer

        Roger Hangarter, Indiana University, Department of Biology

        Rutgers Physics and Astronomy Education Research Group

        Sally Reinman, WWF

        Shedd Aquarium

        Sheppard Software

        Steve Gano, AMNH

        Dr. Suhail Islam, Imperial Cancer Research Fund, London

        Susan Wirth, Arbor Day Foundation

        Texas Parks and Wildlife Department

        Thomas J. Greenbowe, Iowa State University Chemical Educational Group

        University of Alberta and Bio-DiTRL

        University of Nebraska, Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources

        University of Southern California, College of Letters, Arts and Sciences, Department of Physics and Astronomy

        Valerie Briscoe, Photographer

        Wake Forest University, Department of Physics

        Wisconsin Online Resource Center

        World Images

        World Wildlife Fund

        Music compositions by Robert Morsberger

        Curious George and related characters, created by Margret and H.A. Rey, are copyrighted and trademarked by Houghton Mifflin Company and used under license. Licensed by Universal Studios Licensing LLLP. Television Series: © 2006. Universal Studios. All Rights Reserved.

        DESIGN SQUAD is produced by WGBH Boston. Design and engineering consulting services provided by Continuum. Major funding for DESIGN SQUAD is provided by the National Science Foundation and the Intel Foundation. Additional funding is provided by Tyco Electronics, National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying, The Harold and Esther Edgerton Family Foundation, Noyce Foundation, Intel Corporation, American Society of Civil Engineers, and the IEEE. This DESIGN SQUAD material is based upon work supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant No. ESI-0515526. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.

        Special thanks to AFTRA and AF of M for granting permission to use segments produced with participation of their members.

        You must be logged in to use this feature

        Need an account?
        Register Now